My 2012 Word of the Year: Deliberate

my 2012 word for the yearDeliberate.

An adverb.

As in “be deliberate” or advised, calculated, considered, knowing, measured, reasoned, studied, thoughtful, thought-out, weighed, intentional.

Merriam Webster Dictionary defines deliberate (the adverb) as “characterized by or resulting from careful and thorough consideration” or “characterized by awareness of the conseqences”.

In 2012, I hope to be deliberate:

  • in seeking God through active study and prayer.
  • in loving others by actively searching for ways to show love, not just stumbling upon it.
  • in my marriage by setting aside time for my husband, not just giving him what’s left at the end of an exhausting day.
  • as a parent by being consistent.
  • in friendships by picking up the phone or dropping a note in the mail more than every once in a while.
  • in making choices that are better for my body, my mind and our budget.
  • in homemaking by creating a comfortable place for my family and a welcoming place for friends.
  • in business by setting goals that line up with my dreams and not chasing tangents.

So, that’s it.  I plan to spend 2012 being deliberate, making choices that focus my attention, my time, my money and my health where they need to be.  Like the writer of Hebrew’s encourages:

1 Therefore, since we also have such a large cloud of witnesses a surrounding us, let us lay aside everyweight and the sin that so easily ensnares us. Let us run with endurance the race that lies before us, 2 keeping our eyes on Jesus, the source and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that lay before Him endured a cross and despised the shame and has sat down at the right hand of God’s throne. (Hebrews 12:1-2 HCSB)

That’s my word.

About personalitychildrensclothes

Welcome to this little blog. I'm Salinda. I'm a momma who loves to sew. I have 2 big kids now--6 and 9, but I still love making classics for little ones. I'm a Louisiana girl, so my shop is stocked with Southern classics. You'll find seersucker and gingham, jon jons and jumpers, and lots of monogramming! And, like any good Louisiana girl, you can count on me to provide you with lots of purple and gold and black and gold. I'm married to a great guy who does all he can to support my work from home business. We love our Jesus, each other, our kids, and Saints football. Guests in our home can always find a pot of sweet tea brewing or a hot pot of Community Coffee.
This entry was posted in About me, Be Deliberate, Winter 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

